Categories
Latest News

#FunkRaiders v.8

This Saturday, December 5th Make it Funky’s #FunkRaiders V.8!The best global funky bass, DnB & Breaks #Twitch livestream continues with a lineup that will have you dancing all day and night from wherever you are in the world. 🙌Join us in the chat as we take you from stream to stream welcoming special live performances by That 1 Guy from Las Vegas, DJ Lickweed from Australia, DJ Clairvo from Hungary, DJ Chad Fox from Puerto Rico! We can’t wait to debut UK DJs HongKongPingPong & Hiphoppapotamus and feature our famous residents Farbsie Funk, DJ Maculate, VJ Tanner, DJ Quesquecest, & Mista Twista!Come drop in to the party this weekend with The Make It Funky Collective!💥💥
www.makeitfunky.ca

VJ Tanner | 2PM EST | 11PM PST | 7PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djtanner98
DJ Quesquecest | 3PM EST | 12PM PST | 8PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/nufunkrecords
HIPHOPAPOTAMUS | 4PM EST| 1PM PST | 9PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djhiphoppapotamus
HongKongPingPong | 5PM EST| 2PM PST | 10PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/h0ngk0ngpingp0ng
Clairvo | 6PM EST| 3PM PST | 11PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/dj_clairvo
Chad Fox | 7PM EST | 4PM PST | 12AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djchadfox
Detta | 8PM EST | 5PM PST | 1AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djdetta_
That 1 Guy | 9PM EST | 6PM PST | 2AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/radio1guy
Lickweed | 10PM EST | 7PM PST | 3AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/twistedaudio
Farbsie Funk | 11PM EST | 8PM PST | 4AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/farbsie_funk
DJ Maculate | 12AM EST | 9PM PST | 5AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djmaculate
Mista Twista | 1AM EST | 10PM PST | 6AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/mistatwista

Follow #FunkRaiders livestream as we jump across the United Kingdom, the United States, and Canada throughout the day, bringing you the best in funk, disco, house, breaks, bass and dnb.
In these troubled times, we bring the funk straight to the comfort of your home. Grab a twitch.tv login for free so you can join us in the chat room and get in on the fun(k)!

Categories
Latest News

Funk Raiders v.6

Turn it up for Make It Funky’s #FunkRaiders v.6 the best global funky bass, DnB & Breaks livestream, tomorrow(Sat. Nov 7th)!This special installment includes 2x UK Beatbox Champion Beardyman, breakstep innovator Deekline, trailblazing production team @AllGoodFunkAlliance, emerging bass-heavy, funky house artist Rumpus soul brother TheGaff plus regulars Farbsie FunkMaculate,DJ Aiden Scott,DJ QuesquecestMista Twista andDJ Tanner.

3PM to 3AM. more visit www.makeitfunky.ca

SCHEDULE IN EST TIME

3PM | DJ Quesquecest | www.twitch.tv/nufunkrecords
4PM | VJ Tanner | www.twitch.tv/djtanner98
5PM | Aiden Scott | www.twitch.tv/djaidenscott
6PM | Beardyman | www.twitch.tv/beardymanananan
7PM | Deekline | www.twitch.tv/junglecakesdnb
8PM | AllGoodFunkAlliance | www.twitch.tv/allgoodfunkalliance
9PM | The Gaff | www.twitch.tv/thegafflive
10PM | Rumpus | www.twitch.tv/rumpusmusic
11:PM | Farbsie Funk | www.twitch.tv/farbsie_funk
12AM | Dj Maculate | www.twitch.tv/djmaculate
1:30AM | Mista Twista | www.twitch.tv/mistatwista

Categories
Latest News

MUST SEE MUSIC DOCS!

Support independent Canadian cinemas closed due to COVID-19. Proceeds from the virtual ticket purchases will help sustain programming and support efforts to reopen participating theatres.


WHITE RIOT
Award-winning music doc about late-70s
UK anti-racism movement ft. The Clash & Steel Pulse 


White Riot is a moment in time when music changed the world. When a generation challenged the status quo. It’s Woodstock meets the March on Washington, punk-style.

Limited virtual cinema Screenings until August 6th
Rent it for $9.99 via Hot Docs Cinema 

Britain, late-1970s. Punk is exploding. The country is deeply divided over immigration. The National Front, a far-right and fascist political party, is gaining strength as politicians like Enoch Powell push a xenophobic agenda. Outraged by a racist speech from Eric Clapton, music photographer Red Saunders writes a letter to the music press, calling for rock to be a force against racism. NME, Melody Maker, and Sounds all publish the letter.

Flooded with responses, Red discovers many share his views. Teaming up with like-minded creatives Roger Huddle, Kate Webb, Syd Shelton and Australian graphic designer Ruth Gregory, the team bands together to create Rock Against Racism (RAR) and a fanzine, Temporary Hoarding. Speaking directly to the youth, Temporary Hoarding reports stories and issues that the mainstream British media ignores, like immigration, the Catholic side of the Northern Ireland conflict, and the police’s controversial “suspected persons” (sus) powers. They give a voice to the voiceless. The National Front begins to strike back, committing acts of violence against RAR supporters and petrol-bombing their HQ. Despite this, RAR spreads virally across the UK and into Europe, becoming a grassroots youth movement. The Clash, Steel Pulse, Tom Robinson and other top bands of the day jump on board.

CREEM:
America’s Only Rock n Roll Magazine
The history of rock ‘n’ roll publication Creem magazine -from its humble beginnings in Detroit to its growing popularity and ultimate demise.
Ripping back the curtain on legendary rock rag CREEM Magazine’s wild and disruptive newsroom; a dysfunctional band of unruly outsiders who weren’t all that different from the artists they covered.  

Featuring appearances from Alice Cooper, Cameron Crowe, Joan Jett, Michael Stipe, KISS, Kirk Hammett, Thurston Moore, Chad Smith and many more  
Watch the wild movie trailer:

Limited virtual cinema Screenings until August 20th
Rent it for $9.99 via Independent Cinema


Capturing the messy upheaval of the ’70s just as rock was re-inventing itself, the film explores Creem Magazine’s humble beginnings in post-riot Detroit, follows its upward trajectory from underground paper to national powerhouse, then bears witness to its imminent demise following the tragic and untimely deaths of its visionary publisher, Barry Kramer, and its most famous alum and genius clown prince, Lester Bangs, a year later. Fifty years after publishing its first issue, “America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine” remains a seditious spirit in music and culture.“An upside to documenting this historic publication is that we get to see the vast community that was formed within and around the magazine’s culture. While Rolling Stone was pushing James Taylor to teens, Creem was galvanizing the renegades by covering outsiders like Iggy Pop and Alice Cooper. Countless misfits rallied around Creem’s flag and went on to do wild and creative things of their own, and that in itself is a story worth sharing.
“ – Exclaim

White Riot and CREEM are distributed in Canada by FilmsWeLike in association with Hollywood Suite